Rolled chicken breast with sundried tomato, danish fetta and olives.

I had one of those shopping trips today. You know the ones when you reach the checkout and you realise that you’ve just spent next weeks rent on food? But the food is going to be glorious! And if all else fails I can bribe my landlord with many home-baked goodies.

I’ve been thinking about making this particular dish all day. Especially in my lecture about thoracic injuries… Writing a shopping list seemed a good use of lecture time, especially when the lecturer was talking so slowly that I could have planted vast acres of crops and still had time to take notes. I got the idea from the wonderful foodgawker, although they stuffed it with apples, something I will definitely try in the future (I even bought said apples today, though I just found an amazing apple slice recipe that may steal them away).

So it’s finally cooked and tastes amazing! The presentation even worked (yes I know I will eventually get some photos up, they are currently collecting on my camera). Here’s how I did it:

Rolled chicken breast with sundried tomato, danish fetta and olives.

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast
  • enough danish fetta to spread over the chicken breast- about 5tsp
  • 5 semi sundried tomato slices
  • 10 kalamatra olives
  • toothpicks
  • Alfoil (optional)
  1. Preheat the oven to about 180 degrees
  2. What we need to do to the chicken breast is make it as thin as possible. I believe there is an appropriate implement for this, possibly a meat tenderiser? I, however just had a good bash at it with my fist and a spatula- did the trick.
  3. Flip the chicken over so the smooth side is on the bottom
  4. Spread the danish fetta over the entire chicken breast- be liberal, more fetta is always better 🙂
  5. Layer the olives and sundried tomatoes over the top of the fetta
  6. Roll the chicken so that the fetta and such is on the inside of a kind of chicken scroll.
  7. Use toothpicks to pin the roll in place, however many and however you feel is best. Mine looked like some kind of medievil roast in miniature, but it worked! And they come out before you present it anyway, so go for it!
  8. Cover the baking dish in alfoil, but don’t push the alfoil into the corners, create a sling type thing for the chicken to rest in
  9. Put the chicken in the baking dish and splash balsamic over the top
  10. Cook for about 30 minutes, turning half way through. Keep checking it and dont be afraid to slice down the middle to see if it’s cooked through, you have to cut it to plate anyway!
  11. Slice into 2-3 pieces and voila!

I served this with some asparagus and squash which I cooked with some salt, cracked pepper, garlic and lemon juice so that they were still crunchy, but cooked.

And now it’s back to the real world and my stat assignment. I’d rather go bake that banana bread I’ve been lusting after for about a week!

Leave a Reply

