Mum’s Mediterranean Risotto.

Last year Ma came to visit me in Brisbane and decided to cook dinner for me. Not held back by the fact that I didn’t own a rice cooker, she sprinted to Myer to get one before it closed and came back with my worthy and faithful cooker. She then proceded to cook up a storm with the delishious rissotto I’m about to show you. Now, like all things my mum does, we ended up with about 10kg of the stuff so I took it with me for lunch and work for the following two weeks! I’ve been hesitant to try it again, because it was so damn good the first time, but with prac I barely have time to think let alone make my lunch so I’m hoping it serves the same purpose as last time! Here goes.

Mum’s Mediterranean Risotto

Ingredients:

  • Rice
  • 1 bottle pasta sauce
  • Large onion
  • Peperoni
  • Kalamatra olives
  • Sundried tomatoes
  • Herbs (I used dried basil)

Method:

  1. Chop the onions and put in the rice cooker on ‘cook’. Stir until transparent.
  2. Add the rice, pasta sauce, olives, sundried tomatoes, chopped peperoni and herbs to the rice cooker
  3. Stir occasionally until rice cooker switches to ‘warm’
  4. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

