What on earth am I going to have for dinner Bean Salad

Ok so the title is a little long, but this bean salad is my grand fall back for when I have no idea what to cook and I don’t really have anything left in the fridge- aka, shopping day was about 3 days ago except I still haven’t been. I always have certain things in my fridge. Usually people have milk, cheese, tomatoes etc… my must haves include sundried tomatoes, olives and 5 bean mix (in a can). Unfortunately the last time I used my olives I lovingly left 2 olives in the jar and so this recipe lacks them. But still good, and I believe relatively good for you. I was going to add tuna but I figured I should leave something in case I procrastinate shopping for another day. Recipe below:

What On Earth Am I Going to Have for Dinner Bean Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 can 5 bean mix (you can use 3 bean mix, or, I suppose, any collection of beans you desire)
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 preserved lemon (aka 4 quarters of preserved lemon) Best if your Ma made these and you carted them back from Cairns with love but there are some pretty good commercial ones too.
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomatoes
  • Lemon juice
  • Clove of garlic

Method:

  1. Drain the beans and rinse well. I don’t know about you but I hate the slimy texture of the beans unless they are washed. Multiple times. In varying temperatures of water.
  2. Dice all other ingredients. I like this salad to have quite small pieces but you may enjoy larger chunks. Crush the garlic to get all the juice out for flavour.
  3. Mix in enough lemon juice to taste and voila- bean salad!

You can pretty much add whatever you like to this- think meditoranian so fetta cheese, olives, chargrilled capsicum, cherry tomatoes etc all work really well. Add tuna or grilled chicken if you want. A variation of this one, if for some reason you don’t like beans (strange people) is to do it as a pasta salad. Best done cold so precook your pasta. Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

