Winter Chicken Soup

I cannot believe I have managed to procrastinate the entire Sunday morning away. Brunch with some lovely ladies then taking the washing in, cleaning my room and finally, making some lovely winter chicken soup. I’m usually quite good at not procrastinating. The way I get around it is by doing things I feel are essential. The clothes did have to come in and my room did need cleaning and I really do have to eat- so it’s justified. However, the introduction and methedology of my honours is still not written. And today is the final day I left myself to do it. But with the aroma of chicken soup permeating the air all I want to do is get a good book and crawl into bed. On that note, I must say that there are few things more luxurious then getting back into one’s pajamas after returning from Sunday brunch. Quite fantastic really.

Winter Chicken Soup

Ingredients-

  • 2 chicken legs
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 eshallots
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 heaped teaspoon bottled ginger
  • 1L chicken stock (yes I’m lazy and didn’t make my own)
  • 1 large potato
  • 1/2 cup creamed corn

Method:

  1. Brown the chicken with a little oil in a pan
  2. Add the stock, creamed corn and ginger to a sauspan and bring to the boil
  3. Chop the potato, carrot, celery and eshallots and add to the stock mixture
  4. Add the browned chicken to the stock
  5. Briefly brown the garlic and add to the stock
  6. Simmer for 1 hour

Enjoy with some crusty buttered bread on a cold winters day! Now I really have to get this honours done. If I do maybe I’ll celebrate by making something lovely for dinner. Mmm the possibilities!

Leave a Reply

