Tie Me Up Garlic and Chive Knots

I do love bread. And it was a very difficult task not to gobble these down straight out of the oven, but they are waiting for their soup to be eaten with! They smell AMAZING. I based the from http://nisahomey.blogspot.com/2011/03/whole-wheat-soft-garlic-knots-no.html and just changed the topping so I could play with my new garlic crusher. Yes I went to DFO today and didn’t walk out with new clothes, or underwear, or jewellery… no, I went bananas in the kitchen shops and had to stop myself buying a million baking tins (and these amazing tart dishes, yes I’ll prob go back for them!) and ended up with a garlic crusher with an olive/cherry pitter in it. Back to the knots! They were easy to make, rose a lot in the few hours resting time and my recipe made 4. Voila.

Tie Me Up Garlic and Chive Nnots

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp yeast
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/8 cup warm milk
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 tbsp chives (I used the squeezy herb ones)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1tbsp oil

Method:

  1. Combine the milk, sugar and yeast.
  2. Seperately combine the salt, flour and oil.
  3. Add the yeast mixture to a well in the flour.
  4. Gradually add water while mixing until a dough is formed.
  5. Cover and set aside to rise for atleast 2 hours.
  6. Divide into 4 and roll each into a long worm.
  7. Tie each worm in a knot with the spare ends wrapping around to join themselves.
  8. Crush the garlic and combine with oil and chives.
  9. Brush this mix liberally over the knots.
  10. Place on baking paper and bake at 160 degrees for about 25 minutes or until brown.

I love the look of these. I thought the knot bit would be hard- there are step by step photos on the recipe I used as a base so have a go!

Leave a Reply

