Steak with Mashed Potato, Yorkshire Pudding and Onion Gravy.

It’s been so long since I’ve cooked anything of note! Don’t get me wrong, I havn’t been starving. I just highly doubt you want to read about my pasta with a basic tomato sauce or my simple (yet might I add amazing) steak, egg and chips which is about as complicated as it’s name. But tonight I hit upon a blade of inspiration, possibly fueled by procrastination of my neuro study. I might add that this was also inspired by a dear friend of mine, who when asked what I should have with my steak replied ‘mashed potato with gravy!’

And so, taking that to a new level of awesomeness, I set out to make my mashed potato with sour cream and onion gravy, with a Yorkshire pudding added in. Now I’ve never cooked a Yorkshire pudding before, but it turns out they are incredibly easy. The steak does not require a recipe, just cook it like you’d cook a steak. Although my mother did tell me, courtesy of, I believe Jamie Oliver, that you put the oil on the protein, not the pan. So oil on the meat guys! The mashed potato was made fantastic by the use of blue potatoes (the skin, not the flesh) which made cool patterns. A tablespoon of sour cream mashed in makes them amazingly creamy. Recipes below:

Onion Gravy

Ingredients-

  • 1 Brown Onion
  • 2tbsp butter
  • 1tbsp sugar
  • 1tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 200ml stock
  • 1tbsp cornflour

Method-

  1. Chop the onion and place in a pan with the butter.
  2. With the lid on, slowly cook until the onion turns translucent.
  3. Add the sugar and balsamic vinegar and cook for a further 2 minutes.
  4. Add the stock and boil with the lid off for 5 minutes
  5. Add the corn flour slowly to thicken as needed.

Yorkshire Pudding

Ingredients-

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup flour

Method-

  1. Mix ingredients together
  2. Place in patty pans with some oil
  3. Bake at 200 degrees until firm (aprox 15mins)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

