Sunshine Citrus Tart with Candied Fruit and Passionfruit

Ok so I’ve been a bad food blogger- but I’ll make it up to you! Over the next year I’m dedicating myself to one blog-worthy recipe a week. So look out for some great new recipes and potential disasters!

Nothing tickles my taste buds quite like a citrus tart. Sourness mixes with sweetness to produce what looks like sunshine in a saucepan.  This is something I’ve been looking to try for some time, but for some reason, citrus tarts scared me. I don’t know if it was because I love them so much and wanted to do it justice, or if it was the same fear as with pastry where I thought it would be obscenely complex. Whatever the reason, it was unfounded because this recipe was simple, and yielded wondrous results!

I made my first citrus tart a few weeks ago at my parent’s place in Cairns-land. What better place to make something that basically screams sunshine and summer! While Brisbane has been a little confused about the fact that it actually is summer, Cairns has it down pat. This tart came out beautifully, and was so easy to make! I’ve been avoiding this, my favourite of all tarts, because I was scared of doing it an injustice, but oh how the lemon mixed with the egg and sugar to create the perfect yellow which was all tart and sweet and perfect. The base was easy as pie and it set beautifully. I added some candied lemon and orange on top with a pashionfruit swirl and cream to serve. I must say it went down well.

After two weeks back home and a manic search for my new place in Toowoomba I put on my big Christmas dinner for my friends. I made a straight lemon tart this time (slightly more lax on the measurement) but it was a crowd favourite as well. I’ll blog about the rest of the dinner later, much retrospective blogging coming up!

Recipe is a heavily edited version of taste.com’s simple version. I hope you enjoy making it! Remember- don’t be fearful of the mighty tart!

Citrus Tart with Candied Citrus Fruit and Passionfruit

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack nice biscuits
  • 225g butter
  • 2 lemons
  • 1 lime
  • 1 orange (or any combination of citrus fruits)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups caster sugar
  • 1 passionfruit

Method:

  1. Process the nice biscuits in a food processor. You can take to them with any hard object as I did the first time, but you get a much smoother result with the food processor- much recommended. 
  2. Melt about 100g butter.
  3. Add the butter to the biscuit mix until you have a mixture that holds when you squeeze it.
  4. Press the mixture into a flan tin with removable bottom. Try and get an even coat on the bottom and up the sides. You don’t want the last bite to simply be biscuit!
  5. Place in the fridge while you make the citrus curd.
  6. Slice a few pieces off each citrus fruit and set aside for the candied topping.
  7. Grate the rind of the citrus fruits and then juice them.
  8. Set aside approximately 2/3 cup of the juice and and all the rind.
  9. Whisk the eggs and 1 cup of sugar together.
  10. Slowly add the juice, continuing to whisk. 
  11. Use a double boiler (the two saucepans together with water in the bottom one) and bring the water to a simmer.
  12. Add the egg/lemon mix and stir with a wooden spoon for 20-25 minutes until a custard like consistency.
  13. Pour the citrus curd into the tart casing and refrigerate, preferably overnight but at least for 2-3 hours. 
  14. Bring a small sauspan to the boil and add the citrus fruit slices. Boil for about 40 minutes.
  15. Drain the fruit and mix 1 cup of caster sugar with 1/3 cup of water.
  16. Bring to a light simmer and add the fruit, cooking for 20 minutes.
  17. Let cool and arrange on the tart with the passionfruit pulp.
  18. Enjoy!

I really love making this tart and it’s been made so much better by the food processor my Grandma gave me and the awesome double boiler that my parents gave me for graduation. It’s an awesome device that fits into all sizes of saucepans- so great to take to my friend’s house for xmas dinner! Give it a go- you won’t be sorry!

Leave a Reply

