Pumpkin Pie for Pa

Post lemon tart success I asked my dear Da what type of pie or tart he would like me to cook for Christmas Eve. To my suprise, the pumpkin pie reigned as his number one. Now I’ve never cooked a pumpkin pie, but I’ve eaten some, courtesy of a good friend with nimble baking fingers. So I did my research and stole her recipe, snapping photos of it with my phone. Unfortunately I didn’t take the name of the recipe book, but I have the feeling it was a Women’s Weekly one. I would have to say that cooking off a smart phone is not a fun as it sounds. It gives none of the joy the larger screen and graphics an ipad has and the fact that I had to continue to put in my password with pastry covered fingers was not ideal. This has further fueled my desire for an ipad. The perfect 21st century solution for my inner 1950s housewife. But alas that will have to wait until I have an income. And until I have outfitted my kitchen with the delights of single living! Fortunately though, I made it through the pie- and the results were well received by all.

Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients: Pastry

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 cup self raising flour
  • 125g butter
  • 2tbsp cornflour
  • 2tbsp icing sugar

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin- mashed
  • 2/3 cups evaporated milk
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Pinch allspice

Method:

  1. Sift the dry ingredients together for the pastry.
  2. Cut the butter into small pieces and work into the dry ingredients with your hands. The warmth of your fingers helps to gently soften the butter- so don’t be tempted to use a spoon and don’t try and melt it first. 
  3. If the mixture does not come together fully add a little water until you can.
  4. Knead it until it is slightly elastic and comes into a neat ball.
  5. Refrigerate for 10 minutes.
  6. Roll out onto a floured board until it is the right thickness (I used about 5mm).
  7. Once you have your pastry, roll it over the rolling pin and drape over your pie tin. If you are having trouble with this, try rolling it out onto floured glad wrap, makes it easier to roll over the pin. If all else fails, just press it into the correct shape in the tin- it all gets filled anyway!
  8. Cover with baking paper and a little rice (apparently the rice does not need to fill the dish according to my mother, but only 1/4 a cup is needed to absorb moisture… mmm I wonder what will be done with the large amount of baked rice I provided?) 
  9. Bake for 10 mins in a moderate oven about 180degrees Celsius, then remove baking paper and rice and bake for another 10 minutes or until it starts to become a golden brown.
  10. Allow to cool.
  11. For the filling, whisk the eggs and brown sugar together until they thicken.
  12. Add the evaporated milk, pumpkin and spices and stir well.
  13. Once the pastry has cooled, add the filling and replace in the oven for about 50minutes. If your oven is slightly temperamental, remember to rotate it at least once. 
  14. Remove from oven and cool. Voila, Pumpkin Pie!

I do enjoy making new creations and this one even got my brother’s approval, who tends not to like desserts. He even had two helpings! I must say though, it was slightly overshadowed by my Ma’s amazing glazed ham and roast dinner- but if she’s anything to go by, my cooking’s going to be awesome in 30 years time!

Merry Christmas everyone! Enjoy the time with family, friends and, of course, lots and lots of good food!

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie for Pa

  1. The first time I’ve ever seen your brother finish a dessert, let alone a second helping!!! I have never mastered the art of desserts, so you topped off the Christmas Eve dinner superbly.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

