Caramelized onion, basil, cherry tomato, zucchini and goats cheese tart

One thing I have learned in my life, is that my mother is always right. I blame her for very few things. However, the one big thing I blame her for is my addiction to expensive and beautiful food. I may never be rich because my stomach desires goats cheese and Persian fetta, stuffed bell peppers and atlantic salmon, fresh basil and pine nut fetta. Today’s shop incorporated most of these things, though the goats cheese was also laced with ash and the fetta was Bulgarian… But, luckily it also created the magnificent tart that is in my oven as we speak (or as I blog?). Caramelized onion, basil, cherry tomato, zucchini and goats cheese tart. Ohhhhhh I cannot wait to eat it! I based this on a few different recipies I’ve seen in the last few weeks, but mostly on what foods tickled my fancy as I shopped. Original recipe below:

Caramelized onion, basil, cherry tomato, zucchini and goats cheese tart.

Ingredients:

  • 1 sheet puff pastry
  • 3tbsp basil pesto
  • 1 brown onion
  • 3 eshallots
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • zucchini
  • 100g ash coated goats cheese
  • 8 cherry tomatoes
  • oil 
  • handful fresh basil leaves

Method:

  1. Slice the onion and white part of eshallot.
  2. Cook slowly in a little olive oil until it caramalises.
  3. Add the sugar and continue to slowly cook for 2 minutes.
  4. Spread the pesto over the pastry leaving a 1-2cm border.
  5. Use a peeler to slice the zucchini finely and pile onto the pastry.
  6. Cut the tomatoes lengthways and scatter over pastry.
  7. break the fetta into small pieces and scatter.
  8. Cut the green portion of the eshallot and scatter with the rest of the ingredients.
  9. Place on a greased tray and oil the edges of the pastry.
  10. Bake at about 200 degrees (gas) for 30 minutes or until the pastry is golden.
  11. Remove and scatter the basil leaves on top.
  12. Enjoy!

Oh my! When it came out of the oven it was simply stunning! Looked fantastic and tasted divine! Worth every hard earned cent- don’t I love having a reoccurring paycheck!!!

Leave a Reply

