Tuna cakes- what happens when I forget to shop.

I seem to have this problem when I expect the food in my fridge to automatically regenerate. I believe it was last weekend when I woke up, excited to consume a wonderful brunch as I usually make on Saturdays, and realised that my fridge had a few tablespoons of milk, one egg, a bendy carrot and not much else. I was even lacking bread which took away the simple egg on toast option.  Luckily, I am used to the phenomenon of forgetting to shop, so the cupboard always has emergency food. I grabbed a multitude of cans and set to work. I’d have to say, the outcome was realllllly good. I don’t usually like cooking canned food, I prefer fresh produce, but as I said, the fridge was empty, and I was disinclined to leave the house before foraging for sustenance. So my tuna cakes were born and they were delicious!

Tuna Cakes:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can tuna
  • 1/2 can corn
  • 1/2 can potatoes, drained
  • Bread crumbs
  • Canola oil
  • Lemon
  • Salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Mash the potatoes and mix with the tuna, egg and corn.
  2. Take a palmful and roll in bread crumbs.
  3. Shallow fry in oil and serve with a wedge of lemon.
  4. Voila, brunch without leaving the house!

Nice and easy and tasty. In smaller portions I expect these would be nice as appetizers etc.

Leave a Reply

