Jamie Oliver’s Vanilla Icecream with Olive Oil and Sea Salt

When I went to Ireland last year we spent one memorable morning in a little seaside town apparently famous for its surfing. Now considering it was the middle of summer and I was wondering around with a hoodie and jeans and still feeling I may lose a limb to frostbite, I didn’t feel like a surf! The other thing that didn’t exactly tickle my fancy was ice cream, however this town had a famous little shop with the most amazing flavours. I tried a balsamic and caramel until Kelsey and I settled on sea salt. Now I know what you are thinking, sea salt ice cream? But think about salted caramel… Some of the best meals have that perfect blend of sweet and savory, and those are the memorable ones.

Come back to 2012 and I was at a friend’s place looking through recipe books after she had stuffed me with delicious chicken parmigiana with Bree followed by cherry pie with cream. Spoilt aren’t I? But in Jamie Oliver’s Italian cookbook I came across ice cream with olive oil and sea salt. The recipe is simple. The most important thing is to buy good quality vanilla ice cream, olive oil and sea salt. Simply sprinkle some sea salt flakes over the ice cream and drizzle with olive oil. I adore the flavours mixing together. It takes me back to the salty sea air of Ireland. Give it a try and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s Vanilla Icecream with Olive Oil and Sea Salt

Leave a Reply

