Salt and Pepper Salmon with Mandarin and Spinach Salad

I had intended to write an entry about the amazing salmon I was going to cook tonight, a repeat of the one I made for Ma and Da in Cairns over the Easter hols. However clearly I forgot that I’d written one, and saved it in drafts! The photos aren’t great as I took them on my new iPad- but I’m currently doing some research into a decent camera for this food photography business- suggestions welcome!

I love cooking for people. This last week up in my tropical paradise, Mum and Dad come home and deliver me ingredients. Then I get to go to town with wonderful cookware and knives to create dinner for us. It’s perfect, I don’t have to shop, and then, I get to feed people! Tonight I decided I felt like salmon, and to go with it, a mandarin salad. When I was about 14, I made an awesome chicken, mandarin and strawberry salad for Ma on mothers day. It was fantastic, not that I remember the recipe, but it was my inspiration for tonight’s salad. Original recipe below.

Salt and Pepper Salmon with Mandarin Salad

Ingredients

  • 3 pieces of salmon
  • Salt and pepper
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Tin of mandarin segments
  • 1/4 red onion
  • Baby spinach
  • 1/8 cup salt reduced soy sauce
  • 1 tbs white wine vinegar
  • 1cm cube ginger, grated finely
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil

Method

  1. Grind the salt and pepper over the salmon and press into both sides.
  2. Mix the soy sauce, ginger, 1/4 cup of juice from the mandarin, sesame oil and vinegar together, set aside.
  3. Pan fry in a tiny bit of olive oil. When the first side is cooking, drizzle a tiny bit of the dressing over the raw side. Flip and cook until still pink in the middle. Do not over-cook your beautiful salmon!
  4. Arrange your spinach, mandarin, tomato and finely sliced onion on the plate, with the salmon.
  5. Drizzle the dressing over the salad.
  6. Voila! Enjoy!
One thought on “Salt and Pepper Salmon with Mandarin and Spinach Salad

Leave a Reply

