Anzac Biscuits

Today, I heard my new neighbors start to move in. I live in a great big old house that’s up on stilts, like most of the houses in Toowoomba. This house has been split down the middle to make two units, so it’s much like having a house mate, except I don’t actually have to see them and I can shower with the door open. I hear what’s on their TV and can tell when they walk from one room to another.

They were making quite an impressive racket. I did at one point think they weren’t so much moving in, as trying to build an ark. Then I thought about the noise I had made moving in which was probably a combination of squawks, confused babbling, raucous singing and general glee combined with a lack of sleep, so I thought I’d cut them a break. I did try to work out why it sounded like they were sanding something though…

So, considering that I was going to know their every move for the next however long- I thought I’d do the nice neighborly thing and bribe them into being good neighbors by bringing them food. Considering my milk had gone off and I had no eggs, it’s pretty lucky it is ANZAC day and those biscuits are easy, quick, require no fresh ingredients and will stay good forever, hence their purpose. So I whipped up a fantastic batch and wandered out my door, hot biscuit aroma surrounding me, ready to face the music and meet my, hopefully less psychopathic than the last, neighbors.

Turns out they weren’t moving in. It was the cleaners. And they were sanding something. I fed them the biscuits anyway- they seemed pleased, just very confused as to why…

ANZAC Biscuits

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1 cup desicated coconut
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1 (big) tbsp golden syrup

Method:

  1. Mix all dry ingredients together.
  2. Melt the butter in a saucpan.
  3. Add the golden syrup and water and stir until combined.
  4. Add bi-carb soda and stir as it foams.
  5. Add to dry ingredients and mix until combined.
  6. Roll into balls and place on a greased tray.
  7. Press down on each ball with a fork to slightly flatten.
  8. Bake at around 180 degrees until golden.
  9. Eat when hot! Or dunk in milk 🙂

Lest we forget.

Leave a Reply

