Canadian Pancakes (pancakes with bacon and maple syrup!)

I love Canadian pancakes. My first experience with this slightly odd bacon and maple syrup combination was on a trip to Melbourne with my mother. She had decided that I was going mildly insane with studying in year 11 and that removing me to another state and forbidding me to take any sort of school work with me would help. It did. One wonderful morning at Melbourne’s south bank we stopped at a little cafe, sat outside (I don’t really know why, as it was winter?) and I ordered Canadian french toast. These GIANT slices of beautiful eggy toast came out with delicious bacon and sweet maple syrup. I was sold. Ever since then I’ve had a love of Canadian french toast. However, up until now I have not made a decent pancake. For some reason my pancakes tend to be flat, sad and generally deflated. Oh but I have learnt the secret! Buttermilk. Oh buttermilk and baking powder, you make my pancakes fluffy and very, very happy. So here you go, curtesy of http://i-bake-for-you.blogspot.com.au/2009/01/pancakes.htm, My Canadian Buttermilk Pancakes.

Canadian Buttermilk Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 3 rashes of bacon
  • Maple syrup
  • Butter

Method;

  1. Mix flour, baking powder and sugar.
  2. Add milk, vanilla essence and egg and mix.
  3. Set aside for 10 minutes until the batter has bubbles on the surface. 
  4. In one pan add some butter and heat to a low-moderate heat.
  5. Add batter- the amount will depend on the size of pancake you want. I like those with about 1 15-20cm diameter. They will be ready to flip when bubbles appear over the entire surface, not just the edges.
  6. Meanwhile, in a seperate pan, cook the bacon.
  7. Assemble the pancakes with bacon on top and a good drizzle of maple syrup.
  8. Enjoy with a nice cup of tea 🙂
One thought on “Canadian Pancakes (pancakes with bacon and maple syrup!)

Leave a Reply

