Ocean trout, caper and lemon fettachini. Oh. My. Ocean trout.

Week night dinners are my favorite time to bring out fabulous dishes. Because really, you don’t need a special occasion to cook. We all have to eat and Wednesdays are just as worthy as Saturdays when it comes to gourmet. I know that it’s hard when you’re cooking solo, but really, it just means that you can cook exactly to your taste buds. No forgoing the chilli because someone doesn’t like spice or skipping seafood because your friend doesn’t like it or being light on the lemon because not everyone’s a fan. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Cooking for one is no excuse not to cook well (although it is an excuse to eat odd things, just because you can and pretend that they are dinner- I won’t judge that!)

I had thought about trying this dish all day at work, done a little research which led to the addition of the anchovies and picked up parsley on the way home. I thought it would be good. I had no idea just how good! This dish is probably one of my all time favorites. A wonderful combination of textures from the crisp fried garlic and parsley to the soft ocean trout and the perfectly cooked pasta. The multiple flavours using anchovies for salt, capers and lemon for sour, salmon for that beautiful rich oily taste and the delicious eggy taste that I’ve discovered in home made pasta. It’s a fairly simple dish that doesn’t take long to create. And my it’s worth it to sit there on a Wednesday night with a dish of this and a glass of red. That is, indeed, the life.

Ocean Trout, Caper and Lemon Fettachini

Ingredients

  • 1 fillet ocean trout
  • large handful continental parsley
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 3 anchovies
  • 2tsp capers
  • pinch of chilli flakes
  • olive oil
  • 1 lemon
  • fresh pasta (as per previous recipe)

Method

  1. Slice the trout into approximately 5mm slices and marinate in the juice of half the lemon. Set aside.
  2. Place the pasta in boiling salted water, stir regularly.
  3. Add a little olive oil to a hot pan with the crushed garlic and chilli.
  4. Allow these to crisp up and become golden before adding capers, torn anchovies and half the parsley, chopped finely.
  5. Add the trout and marination juice, flipping each piece after about 15 seconds. The fish will have already started to cook in the lemon juice and you do not want it to be rubbery.
  6. Drain the pasta and put in a bowl.
  7. Stir through the crunchy cooked mix, fresh chopped parsley and ocean trout with a good squeeze of lemon juice.
  8. Enjoy!

This is also the first dish that I’ve photographed with my new camera. I’m still a bare novice when it comes to photography, but at least I have the equipment now! Let me know what you think of the pics and if you have any suggestions please share!

I’m really enjoying experimenting with new pasta combinations now that I’ve experienced fresh pasta that is so worthy of new flavours. I really want to try some ravioli soon! But first, give this one a go, it’s beautiful and healthy. A midweek feast to be proud of. And remember- my kitchen is always open for those who want to be fed!

Leave a Reply

