Earl Grey Cupcakes

I know I’ve made earl grey cupcakes before, but this time I tried a new recipe and I think it’s much better! http://iheartkatiecakes.blogspot.com.au/2011/05/earl-grey-cupcakes.html I made a few minor changes and had a go at proper cupcake icing for the first time!

Earl Grey Cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 125 ml milk
  • 5 Earl Grey tea bags
  • 110g unsalted butter
  • 225g sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence (I used the gel)
  • 140g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder

Frosting:

  • 115g unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 60 ml milk
  • 1 earl grey tea bag
  • 1 tsp good quality vanilla extract (I used the gel)
  • 500g icing sugar
  • Few drops of blue and red food colouring

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180c.  Line a 12 hole muffin tray with cupcake cases. I used my awesome silicon ones.
  2. Heat milk with teabags in it in a saucepan over a medium heat until it begins to boil. Remove from the heat and rest for 30 minutes.
  3. Cream butter with sugar in a bowl.
  4. Add vanilla extract and eggs and beat until well combined
  5. Combine the flour and baking powder in a separate bowl. Add a third of the flour to the butter and sugar mixture and beat well. Pour in a third of the milk/tea mixture and beat. Repeat until all the flour and milk has been added.
  6. Carefully spoon mixture into cupcake cases, filling each one two-thirds full.  Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. Test to see if they are cooked.
  7. Leave to cool fully for a few hours.
  8. To make butter cream,Place the remaining teabag in the 60ml of milk and microwave for 1 minute.
  9. Add a few drops of blue and red colour until a purple is reached.
  10. Beat butter, tea-milk, vanilla and half the icing sugar until smooth.
  11. Gradually add the rest of icing sugar to produce a creamy and smooth consistency.
  12. Ice the cupcakes with a generous swirl.

I can’t believe my icing worked! I love them and can’t wait to take them into work for people to enjoy tomorrow. I had one after dinner and they taste just amazing!!!

One thought on “Earl Grey Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

