Jamie Oliver’s Pork and Broccoli Stirfry

SAM_1161

SAM_1160

I can’t believe this is my first post of 2013! But never fear- I’ve been cooking all year and have saved up all food stories for when I had a chance to blog about them! I’m still loving using my iPad to cook and Jamie Oliver’s ap is fantastic. So here it is, modified as I always do:

Pork and Broccoli Stirfry

Ingredients:

  • 200g pork cut into thin strips
  • Bunch of broccolini (He said purple sprouting broccoli- which to my knowledge does not exist in our supermarkt!)
  • Bunch of pak choy (he said mangetout which I firstly didn’t even know what it was and secondly could not find at the shop- so I figured green and leafy would do!)
  • 2 cloves garlic- crushed
  • 5cm fresh ginger (it’s worth it to use fresh)- grated
  • 1 red onion- finely sliced
  • 1 fresh red chilli- seeded and finely sliced
  • 1/2 bunch spring onions- sliced
  • 1 lime
  • 30g cashews
  • 1tbsp cornflour
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • sesame oil
  • light soy sauce
  • peanut oil
  • salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Parboil the broccolini and then drain and set aside. It should have softened but still be firm to bite into.
  2. Coat the pork in the juice of half the lime and a tablespoon of soy sauce and toss to coat.
  3. Add a splash of peanut oil to the pan and get it really hot. Add the pork and some salt and pepper and stirfry for 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add the garlic and ginger and fry for a few minutes getting it all aromatic.
  5. Add the chilli, onion and cashews and stiry-fry for another few minutes.
  6. Add the brocolini and pak choy and stir-fry until they are heated through.
  7. Add the cornflour, a splash of soy sauce and the honey and toss.
  8. Drizzle a good amount of sesame oil  and serve with extra lime.
  9. Voila!

This dish was really delicious. I haven’t done a stir-fry in ages and I forgot how flavourful they are when you use a variety of fresh ingredients rather than a packet from the store. Don’t skip the cashews- they are amazing in it! I had mine with a lot of extra lime and it didn’t look as pretty on the plate as I could have made it because I was too hungry to arrange it nicely! I think any green leafy vegetable would work well in this so experiment away!

Leave a Reply

