Thyme, Olive and Sundried Tomato Buttermilk Bread

SAMSUNG

It’s raining. Still. It’s still raining. My feet got wet as soon as I stepped out of the house this morning and made squelching noises for the remainder of the day until I returned home and did the only logical thing to do in this weather. Bake. It may not be the only logical thing actually. However all the other things have been done and redone so many times over the last two months of solid rain that it was time for something new. I’ve read books, I’ve napped, I’ve gone shopping, drunk copious amounts of tea and one to the gym more times than I can count. Now I’m up to baking. I saw this bread on Pinterest and thought it looked delicious so it seemed like the perfect thing to do on this rainy afternoon considering I’m trying not to undo all the good gym work (which cut out the idea of a pecan pie which was also on the cards!) Original source: http://sugareverythingnice.blogspot.co.nz/2011/03/cheese-olive-and-buttermilk-herb-bread.html as usual I made some changes which are in the recipe below! I wanted something almost a little sweet in this and I think next time I will add chargrilled capsicum in it for supreme deliciousness!

SAMSUNG

Thyme, Olive and Sundried Tomato Buttermilk Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dry mustard powder
  • 60g freshly grated parmesan
  • 60g grated cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup kalamatra olives, sliced
  • 8 pieces sundried tomatoes, sliced thinly
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup mixture of spring onion and Italian parsley
  • 2 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup milk + 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1/4 cup greek yoghurt
  • Extra thyme springs and sea salt, for topping

Method:

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients together.
  2. Add sliced sundried tomatoes, olives, cheese, herbs and spring onion.
  3. Separately, whisk eggs together with milk, greek yoghurt and olive oil.
  4. Make a well in the dry ingredients and mix in the liquid until the dough is sticky and there is no loose flour.
  5. Spoon into a well greased and floured loaf tin (I used baking paper but then it got stuck all over the loaf so I would not suggest this!)
  6. Bake for 40-55 minutes at 180degrees- once the top is browned, cover with alfoil to prevent burning.
  7. Remove and enjoy!

I always love how bread makes me feel coming out of the oven. It’s warm and smells amazing. Makes you really appreciate the fact that the bread you buy in the supermarket comes nowhere near what it should be like! Home made bread feels like a warm doona on a rainy day. Mmmm.

soup

Leave a Reply

