Lemon, Rosemary and Zucchini Bread

SAM_1163

I love baking! Especially on weekends when it seems like I’ve got all the time in the world to carefully mix different ingredients together until they form a beautiful end product. I’ve been eating well over the past few weeks- lots of fresh fruit and vegies to go along with my renewed addiction to the gym and running. So that makes baking a little hard sometimes when all that comes to mind is banoffee pie! But I found this beautiful recipe as I was scrolling through pinterest and it caught my eye. I made a few changes from the original (when don’t I?) which can be found here: http://www.fitsugar.com/Healthy-Zucchini-Bread-Recipe-22825653 like severely decreasing the honey/syrups from 1/2 a cup to a tablespoon! My version is below:

SAM_1165

Lemon, Rosemary and Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain flour (I would have liked to use whole wheat but I haven’t bought any yet!)
  • 1 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon zest
  • Squeeze of lemon Juice
  • 1 cup grated zucchini

Method:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl.
  2. Beat the egg with hand beaters until it is frothy.
  3. Add the avocado and honey and beat until combined.
  4. Add the zucchini, rosemary, lemon zest and lemon juice and stir until combined.
  5. Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix until combined.
  6. Grease a loaf tin and pour mixture in evenly.
  7. Pop in the oven at 175 degrees for 30 minutes. Check and if top is browned, cover with foil and bake for an additional 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
  8. Enjoy!

This is really delicious and remarkably healthy. Looking forward to an afternoon snack with some fresh tomatoes and avocado on top!

Leave a Reply

