Julie Goodwin’s Hot Cross Buns

734268_10151364216931317_1021025447_n

I love a good hot cross bun. I would even go so far as to say I look forward to hot cross buns more than chocolate at Easter. They’ve been sitting in the shops taunting me for over a month and there was a memorable incident where I stalked the sticky date hot cross buns in Coles one evening after going to the gym. I walked past. Walked back. Picked them up. Put them down. Walked away. Walked back. Put them in my basket. Walked two meters. Turned around. Put them back. Grabbed an apple and left the store before people started to think I was insane… So I made a rule that I could have hot cross buns when I made them- which are far more delicious, I know exactly what’s in them and I feel amazingly productive baking them! I only made a half batch because I didn’t want to consume 12 and I wanted to take some up to Grandma tomorrow. I did keep the sultana measurement the same though and added citrus peel for extra deliciousness! Original recipe at http://www.juliegoodwin.com.au/blog/?p=1381 I love Julie- I feel like she’d be a really great hugger.

SAMSUNG

Hot Cross Buns

Ingredients:

  • 5/8 cups milk
  • 1/8 cup caster sugar
  • 1 x 8g sachets dried yeast
  • 2 cups plain flour plus extra for kneading
  • 1 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons mixed spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 30g butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup sultanas
  • 1/2 cup mixed citrus peel
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup self-raising flour
  • 2 tbsp water

Method:

  1. Warm the milk in the microwave and add sugar. It should be warm but not hot- lest you kill the yeast!
  2. Mix in yeast and set aside until it is frothy- about 5-10 minutes.
  3. Mix plain flour, spices and salt together.
  4. Use fingers to work in the butter.
  5. Add sultanas and citrus peel and mix.
  6. Add egg and yeast mixture and mix with a wooden spoon.
  7. Knead on a well floured surface for  5 minutes. The mixture should start to feel a bit elastic.
  8. Set aside in an oiled bowl covered in cling wrap in a warm place for 45 minutes- it should double in size.
  9. Briefly knead again and then seperate into 8 small balls (the recipe called for 6 but I wanted more, slightly smaller buns).
  10. Grease and put baking paper on a tray and lightly flour. Arrange the balls close together- they should be just touching. (I think if I’d had a smaller tray that ‘hugged’ them better they would have risen in a nicer way)
  11. Cover and set aside for 15 minutes.
  12. Mix the self raising flour and water and place in a plastic bag.
  13. Snip off the end and draw the cross on the buns in a big line.
  14. Bake at 180 degrees for about 25 minutes- when tapped, they sound hollow when ready.
  15. EAT IMMEDIATELY! Nothing beats hot cross buns straight out of the oven!!!

Enjoy with a cup of tea! Happy Easter!

SAMSUNG

 

Leave a Reply

