BBQ Pork Chop on a Pear and Walnut Salad with a Balsamic Honey Dressing

SAMSUNG

Most days I forget to defrost anything in the morning and at night I’m left with the choice between trying to carefully microwave something or forgoing meat. Luckily, this morning I remembered that I have a few pork chops in the freezer and that it was high time to use one. Having recently read a Jamie Oliver recipe on a balsamic glazed pork loin I threw some balsamic vinegar in the snap lock bag with the frozen chop and threw it in the fridge on my way to work.

SAMSUNG

After a day in the office, where I went slightly crazy because it’s school holidays and I did paperwork all day rather than have my usual fun with the kids, I had to decide what I wanted to actually DO with my frivolously marinated pork chop. I decided that pear and walnuts were a must and I went from there with whatever was in my fridge. This was really delicious and I will definitely make it again. I’m a huge fan now of putting cooked sweet potato or pumpkin in a salad with nuts. Mostly because it’s an awesome combination!

BBQ Pork Chop on a Pear and Walnut Salad with a Balsamic Honey Dressing

Ingredients:

  • Pork chop- defrosted/left in snap lock bag with around 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar for 12 hours or so.
  • Baby spinach and rocket mix (any leafy greens will suffice)
  • One small sweet potato
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 ripe but firm pear
  • handful of walnuts
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt reduced soy sauce
  • 1 tsp honey
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Oregano to garnish

Method:

  1. Chop the sweet potato into 1 inch cubes and lightly oil. Grind over some salt and pepper and bake. I used my magic little Webber BBQ to bake these and they turned out perfectly!
  2. Arrange the salad greens and finely sliced onion on a plate.
  3. Mix up the vinegar, soy sauce and honey into a dressing and set aside.
  4. On the BBQ, grill the pork, turning once.
  5. Slice the pear and grill a few pieces for around 10 seconds on each side.
  6. Arrange the sweet potato and pear on top of the salad and scatter the walnuts on top.
  7. Place the pork chop on top and drizzle dressing over the entire dish.
  8. Garnish with a sprig of oregano (plucked fresh from the herb garden as you walk to the table!) and serve.

This was a perfect dish to finish off the week with! Filling with nice fresh flavours. One I’ll definitely come back to!

Leave a Reply

