Corn, Cheese and Basil Loaf

SAMSUNG

Tonight was the engagement party of a special couple. I’ve known both of them for years and tonight they asked us to join them in celebrating their engagement. What better way to do that than food! I decided to bring bread, thinking that salads are always well represented. I bought back an empty breadboard so I think it was a success! I was happy with it at any rate! Original recipe:  http://www.frombraziltoyou.org/brazilian-recipes/from-brazil-to-you-corn-bread-with-basil/

Also a shout out here to my beautiful baking friend whose raspberry red velvet cupcakes could change anyone’s life!

SAM_1192

Corn, Cheese and Basil Loaf

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal (apparently this is known as polenta in Australia!)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar
  • 3/4 cup grated mozzarella  cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup tasty cheese
  • 1 1/2 cup frozen corn, cooked
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil

Method:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together.
  2. Lightly beat the eggs together with the melted butter and milk.
  3. Add egg mix to dry ingredients and stir with a large spoon.
  4. Add cheese, corn and basil (Set a few nice leaves aside for presentation)
  5. Well grease a loaf tin and sprinkle with polenta.
  6. Pour mixture into tin and bake at 180degrees for 30 minutes.
  7. Sprinkle a little extra Parmesan on top and bake until browned.
  8. If a skewer inserted does not come out clean, cover in foil and continue to cook until it does so (5-10minutes).
  9. Gently pry from tin and present with a few fresh basil leaves.
  10. Enjoy with butter!

I like making different types of bread. I think for winter when I make my vats of soup to take for lunches I’ll make some bread to go with them 🙂

Now I’m off to nurse my poor mouth to bed- my wisdom tooth is erupting. This is not an enjoyable experience!

SAM_1191

One thought on “Corn, Cheese and Basil Loaf

  1. I am very glad to find out that my corn bread with basil recipe is here and you brought back home an empty breadboard. 🙂 Although this bread is a good pair for salads and hearty soups, I like to serve it with my Brazilian-style Pork Ribs and mashed potatoes/cassava. I hope you try one one of these days…Anyway, you did a great job! I love your beautiful corn bread pictures. Wishing you a sunny, happy day!!!

Leave a Reply

