Overnight Oats

I’ve become addicted to overnight oats. Having creamy deliciousness waiting for me in the fridge when I wake up is enough to motivate me to step out of my cozy bed and start the day. The original mix I was given was easy- 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup greek yoghurt, 1/3 cup milk. It is nice, if simple, and I’ve made a few different types now that are amazing! I adore the fact that not only are they delicious, easy and super convenient, but also really healthy! I’m still trying new combinations- the one in the fridge for tomorrow is red grape, spinach and zucchini- it tastes so much better than I had envisioned! The green oats make me feel like I’m starting the day in such a super healthy way while the chocolate ones taste too decadent to be as healthy as they really are! Recipes below:

Basic Overnight Oat Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2/3 cup liquid (almond milk, greek yoghurt, juice, milk etc)
  • fruit/vegetables of your choice

Method:

  1. Blend fruit/vegetables and liquid together
  2. Mix well with oats and chia in a bowl or jar
  3. Refrigerate overnight
  4. Enjoy!

Here are some of the combinations I have tried (the blended components):

Green Oats:

  • 1/4 avocado or 1/3 zucchini
  • large handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 small ripe banana
  • (roughly crushed almonds on top optional)

wpid-2013-05-14-20.50.00.jpg

Grape, Almond, Spinach and Zucchini Green Oats:

  • 1/3 zucchini
  • large handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • large handful red grapes
  • tsp almond essence

Rich Chocolate Oats:

  • 1 tbsp high quality cocoa powder
  • 1 over-ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 avocado or 1/4 cup greek yoghurt
  • (Sprinkle shredded coconut on top for a delicious crunch like a coconut rough!)

wpid-2013-05-08-07.16.05.jpg

wpid-2013-05-04-06.40.09.jpg

Pumpkin and Persimmon Oats:

  • 1/2 cup roasted pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • Mixed spices (cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon etc)
  • Roughly chopped persimmon- mix in with oats and blended liquid

wpid-2013-05-05-07.32.46.jpg

Fruity Mango Oats (no blending required):

  • 1/4 cup fruit juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 mango roughly chopped (I had frozen a mango in pieces and let it defrost in the oats)

Cherry Almond Oats (this one’s too good for breakfast- I ate it for dessert!):

  • 1/3 cup tart cherry juice (I used the liquid from the cherries in a jar)
  • 1/2 cup cherries (half blended half left whole)
  • splash of almond milk
  • 1 tbsp almond essence

Sorry for the lack of photos for some of these- I’m usually too eager to nom them in the morning that I forget photos! Seriously, everyone needs to try these for breakfast. Or dessert. Or really any meal! I’m excited about tomorrow’s!

Leave a Reply

