Poh’s Pork and Cabbage Dumplings

This morning I went to the Rocklea markets to pick up fresh fruit and vegetables. I’m completely in love with them. Seriously, there are fresh raspberries for $4 a punnet! I love how all my bags look bursting with colours! There are so many free taste tests of fruit and veggies and salamis and sauces and chutneys! The cute busker was absent today unfortunately.

wpid-2013-07-27-13.01.38.jpg

I stopped in on the way home to pick up the rest of what I needed- mostly tinned tomatoes etc. My local shopping center has opened up a new fresh food precinct. I’m so excited about the new shops! There’s an Asian grocer, a butcher that does dry aged meats and waguu beef, a fish monger, a well priced florist that does edible flowers, a new coffee shop and sushi restaurant and a few other awesome stores! The new Woolworths has a great deli and cheese section and there’s a Coles coming as well.

wpid-2013-07-27-14.06.21.jpg

While I was there I saw that they were holding cooking demos. And low and behold, who was there but Poh! I fell in love with Poh on Master Chef and love her cooking and her general bubbly persona. I caught the end of her dumpling demo and killed 30 minutes (and about the same in dollars) in Lush until her next demo. I was front and center for the cooking of an amazing curry, which I may have to do for my next Thursday night dinner! Afterwards I got to try some and it was DELICIOUS! I also got a photo and a hug- and turned beetroot red whilst I told her how much I love watching her cook!

wpid-2013-07-27-14.06.09.jpg

Anyway, I got home and made these amazing pork and cabbage dumplings. I had always thought dumplings were hard, even without making the skins. But seriously, these were super easy! I used the odd combination of 100g heart smart pork mince and 100g unidentified mince (possibly veal?) that I had in the freezer and it worked well!

Poh’s Pork and Cabbage Dumplings

Ingredients:

Dumpling skins

  • 1 cup flour
  • boiling water

Dumpling fillings

  • 2 1/2 cups shredded wombok
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 250g fatty pork mince
  • 1 tbsp ginger chopped finely
  • 1/2 cup spring onions
  • 1/8 tsp ground white pepper (I omitted this as I forgot it!)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp shaoxin rice wine (forgot to buy this, added chanking vinegar instead!)
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sesame oil

Dipping Sauce

  • 1/4 cup light soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp chianking vinegar
  • 1/8 tbsp sugar
  • 2-3 tsp chilli oil
  • 1 tbsp ginger finely shredded
  • 2 tsp garlic chopped finely

Method:

  1. Mix salt and cabbage and set aside whilst you make the dumpling skin.
  2. Mix flour and a little boiling water with a fork. Don’t put in too much or it will become sticky.
  3. Tip onto a floured bench and knead adding water or water as needed.
  4. Wrap in cling wrap and set aside for 10 minutes.
  5. Squeeze excess water from cabbage (squeeze quite hard and you’ll be surprised how much water comes out)
  6. Mix with the rest of the dumpling filling (use your hands to make sure the pork is mixed well through the cabbage)
  7. Roll the dough into a log with a 20cm diameter.
  8. Slice into 1cm discs and flatten against the floured bench with your palm.
  9. Use a dumpling rolling pin (or a 2cm piece of dowel, or actually, a normal rolling pin works just as well) to roll the discs into 1mm thick circles.
  10. Place a tablespoon of filling in the center of the circle and draw the edges together to seal well.
  11. Pop into a large saucepan of salted boiling water for a few minutes.
  12. Meanwhile mix the dipping sauce ingredients together.
  13. Once the dumplings begin to float, wait another 10 seconds and pluck from the boiling water and into a hot pan with a little hot vegetable oil.
  14. Fry until browned on both sides.
  15. Enjoy dipped in sauce!

Seriously, I had no idea that making the skins and then the dumplings would be so easy! You don’t have to fry these but I found them to be a little slippery with excess flour on the outside.

wpid-2013-07-27-13.50.54.jpg

This recipe will fill two for a meal (perhaps with a nice Asian salad?) or four as a starter.

Leave a Reply

