Lebanese lamb with home made tzatziki

I was in the mood for something simple, delicious and quick to cook after a week of hard workouts left my entire body feeling like it had been stomped on by water buffalo. I had the tzatziki in my hand before I realised that I could probably make a delicious one at home. I’m so glad that I did! This meal took me about 10 minutes to put together (and that’s a real ten minutes not a Jamie Oliver ten minutes with preheated pans and water already boiled). I think I polished it off in less time than that…

DSC_0003

Lebanese lamb with home made tzatziki

Ingredients:

  • One lamb rump steak
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 large continental cucumber
  • 1 small tomato
  • 1 Lebanese bread
  • 1/4 cup greek yoghurt (I used Chobani 0% because I’m in love with its creaminess)
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • salt and pepper

Method:

  1. Heat up your BBQ and place the lamb on when it is hot.
  2. Crush the garlic and mix it with the yoghurt and juice from 1/4 of a lemon
  3. Chop the cucumber finely and add half to the yoghurt with a good amount of salt and pepper
  4. Chop the tomato in slightly larger pieces
  5. Flip the lamb and add the Lebanese bread to the BBQ to heat.
  6. Assemble your meal with the bread as the base, the cucumber and tomato scattered on top, a big dollop of tzatziki and then the lamb on top.
  7. Squeeze the juice of the remaining lemon over the whole dish
  8. Enjoy!

Such a delicious, healthy meal after a big week.

DSC_0005

Leave a Reply

