Good Morning Baked Eggs

I always love cooking breakfast foods. It seems like such a luxury to have a carefully planned breakfast, hot and tasty, rather than a bite of toast or cold cereal eaten in the dark. I have the morning off, thanks to honours. Although to be honest it isn’t really off, I’m meant to be writing stuff up… but I’ll hopefully get some done tonight/this arvo. This morning, I’m dedicating myself to eggs. For a while I had something against eggs. Too squishy I thought to myself. However, now I adore cooking with them- so versatile! I bought these little ramikans from an op shop and since then I’ve been working out what I can cook in them. There’s an amazing recipe for redwine and beef pie with a potato pastry top that I can’t wait to try. But this morning, it’s baked eggs. Recipe by moi, devised based on what was in my house, although as I shopped yesterday, there was actually a selection!

Good Morning Baked Eggs

Ingredients (for 1 serve)

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • 1 large button mushroom, sliced
  • 1/4 spanish onion sliced
  • 1 tbsp sour cream
  • dried herbs, salt and pepper
  • Butter

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 150 degrees and place ramekin with 1tbsp butter into the oven
  2. Once the oven has reached temperature, remove ramekin and place sliced tomato, mushroom, onion and cream in a nice arrangement.
  3. Crack egg on top and add last of ingredients on top
  4. Place lid on and bake for 25 minutes
  5. Remove lid for a final 5 mins of baking

Enjoy with a cup of tea or glass of juice. I really wish I had my camera for this. Well, I do have my camera, just not a memory card so it’s difficult to take photos. Just this dish looks amazing! And I know the nom factor increases exponentially if you guys have pics to drool over! Soon, I promise!


Leave a comment